Mathieu

What is going on with Westjet?

I was doing some tests with Google when I saw this “lag problem” by Westjet (Canadian low-fare airline) which are still paying ads on Google for “Air Ticket, Until Dec 31 Book Flights for $170! Save Hundreds With WestJet www.westjet.com

Ummm, too late! It was funny (well, not that much actually) so I’ve decided to run a couple more tests. I wrote down “Westjet” and I got this ad : “WestJets (Official Site) www.westjet.com Save up to 50% off Canada and U.S. Canada’s Leading Low Cost Airline.”

WestJets!? They’ve made a typo!? Umm… then I tried westjets.ca and I got to the site http://www.westjets.ca/. It looks like it could be a WestJet project to generate traffic on westjet.com because there are a lot of links to westjet.com on different phrases. And if it is, I wonder why they are now using Westjets with an “s”!

Ok. I think I got it! Linking to Westjet - Affiliate program.
Since, it is possible for anyone who has a website to be an affiliate to earn a 2% commission on each online sale, I bet that someone uses this identity to link to Westjet and get his commission.

I will write to them right away because I’m pretty curious to know what is going on.

Trackback URI | Comments RSS

Leave a Reply